Favourites | February Edit

This post has arrived a little bit late considering we’re over a week into March but I was eager to write up a ‘February favourites’ as I completely missed January (whoops). I’ll bypass the ‘I can’t believe it’s March already’ spiel because we all know how depressing that is, it only means exams and deadlines are getting closer. I’ll jump straight in instead; heres a little peak of a few things I was obsessing over last month. 

1. Adidas Superstars – These were featured in an outfit post not too long ago and since then they’ve barely left my feet. They are so comfortable but still on trend so can spice up casual outfits or dress down something too formal. I know a lot of people, especially where I live, have the ones with the black stripes down the side so when I bought them I opted for the all white ones instead. Not only do they match my style a lot more but I feel they give a more streamlined effect, perfect for someone as short as me. Quick tip – if you have tiny feet like me, always check out the junior section as you can usually get the right size for a much better price. I managed to bag mine for around £20 cheaper!!

2. No. 7 Protect and Perfect Intense Night CreamI was luckily enough to receive a box full of No.7 goodies for christmas from my sister who knew I was on the hunt for a good moisturiser. I’ve loved using everything from the No.7 package but my favourite by far has been the night cream. It has such a luxurious feel when I apply it, leaving my skin feeling soft and supple. It doesn’t absorb into the skin too quickly which, for me, is perfect for night time application; I can fall asleep knowing it will work its magic overnight. I haven’t noticed a dramatic difference in my skin just a gradual hydrating effect, my skin hasn’t been as dry as it was a couple of months ago which makes such a nice change. I’m completely aware that the main objective of this moisturiser is to reduce fine lines and wrinkles, but prevention is key! If you can find a product that ticks all boxes, why not use it?

IMG_8068

3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Cream Kit – Before receiving this product in the post I had never tried cream contouring despite it being all the rage at the minute. I’ll admit it took a few tries for me to get it right but now I’ve found the best application technique I can barely stop, it now takes me approximately 5 hours to get ready every morning (not good for 9am starts, I assure you).  I purchased it in the shade ‘fair’ as I wasn’t aware they had brought out a lighter shade at the time, which will probably suit my skin tone a little better. Quick tip- don’t be afraid to mix colours to achieve the best shades for your skin. As you can see from the pictures I scrape out tiny amounts from the palette and then mix them on the back of my hand. This process also warms the product up before you apply it to your skin allowing it blend much easier and look more realistic when you’ve finished. ABH products can be a little pricey so I was super pleased when I found Beauty Bay. They sell a lot of high end brands such as ABH and Urban Decay cheaper than the brands own websites and offer a lot of perks such as free sample products if you spend over a certain amount!

4. Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer – This eyebrow pencil has changed my life. A bit extreme but I can now do my brows in half the time and they finish looking twice as good. It’s retractable triangular tip removes the need for sharpening (which is the bane of my life when it comes to pencil products) and the added spoolie at one end makes it easy to flit between adding product and brushing the brows out. Recently I’ve began finishing my browns by outlining them with a small amount of light foundation after filling them in. I then apply a white eyeshadow to the brow bone to set the product and really define the edge of the brow. One thing I love about ABH products it that they cater for such a wide range of colourings, so even if you’re blonde, brunette or a bit of a red head there’ll be a shade to match.

IMG_8134

Thanks for reading guys, let me know what you have been loving recently in the comments and I’ll see you with a new post soon.

Ailish xo

2 thoughts on “Favourites | February Edit

Leave a Reply

