Pretty In Pink | Summer MOTD

Summer approached with it’s usual caution, granting us only the occasional sunny day free from wind or rain, before plunging us head first into relentless and inescapable heat. Although this 7 day summer will soon come to an end, the season still requires a new makeup look. As creatures of habit it is unsurprising that we can easily fall into decorating our faces with the same look day after day, and I often find myself wishing I had the same creativity as some of the amazing MUA’s you find on Instagram and Youtube. So as each new season approaches, I make it my mission to experiment a little and find a look thats easy and perfect for the everyday. This summer pale pinks have added a touch of sweetness to both the fashion and beauty industry and so, drawing inspiration from this, I focused the look around bright eyes painted with soft and youthful colours.

productshot1productshot2productshot4To start I filled my eyebrows in with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer and moved onto priming my eyes with my usual primer from Urban Decay. Using my Bobbi Brown Cool Eyeshadow Palette, I dusted Ivory all over my lids, sweeping the colour to the brow bone. Applying a white shadow or setting powder before your other shadows not only allows their colours to appear more pigmented but also makes the process of blending much easier. I then patted Pink T from the Soap and Glory Lid Stuff palette onto the my entire lid up to the crease with a flat brush before blending any harsh lines, repeating until I felt happy with the colour. To balance out the eyes I then softly blended the same pink onto my lower lash line. In order to give the lid a little bit of depth, I generously applied Pink Quartz onto the centre of my upper and lower lash line as well as my inner corner to open the eye and brighten the look up. I finished the eyes with a touch of mascara.

productshot6productshot5productshot3For this look my complexion routine is pretty much identical to the one I talked about in my previous makeup post, only I switched from using just my No7 Foundation to mixing it with my Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation. During winter I find the Estee Lauder far too dry for the cold weather, but during the summer it becomes perfect for when you risk your foundation slipping and sliding throughout the day. The look was finished off with my new Sleek Makeup liquid lipstick in the shade Shabby Chic.

Let me know in the comments what your favourite make up looks for summer are!

Ailish x

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

 

Leave a Reply

