The North

The North is my favourite place to exist. While I’m sure there are many an exciting place to visit down South, there is something about that Northern chill that makes me hold my breath and pray that the appeal of city living doesn’t steal me away. So when the opportunity arose for Sam and I to travel up to Northumberland I became giddy at the thought. We were told that the views were breathtaking, perfect for a blog post and so of course I spent hours scribbling down lists of things to take and ideas for the blog.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We set off bang on 7am, (which is a miracle considering I usually refuse to emerge from the comfort of my bed until at least 9) and put our faith in the Sat Nav to guide us. Visiting places that you know and love already is nice, nostalgic even, but to travel somewhere totally new brings about a whole new adventure. There is pleasure in seeing new things, finding your way along new terrain or even getting lost in an unfamiliar wilderness. We drove down damp country roads, guided by a city of green that lined the roads. I had no idea that tree’s so big could exist in England. We reached an opening and came to overlook Kielder water, which sat under a soft layer of mist. The weather was miserable but I loved it, it was such a pleasure to have some relief from the heat of the previous few weeks. We arrived at our destination, and set off into the forest to explore.

edit1

I really wanted the backdrop to be the main focus of the pictures so chose to wear something simple, that was suitable for the weather but also looked nice. You can find the look from the first day in my previous post. In order to keep luggage light, I simply swapped out the t-shirt for the second day. My red Dr Martens were pulled out of hiding, the perfect shoe for adventuring, and I threw my go to duster on top and added a pair of sunnies and a simple choker to complete the look.

edit2

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

edit3

Photo 09-08-2016, 15 14 04 (2).jpg

This post has taken a lifetime to put together as I wanted to try something a little different  and it took some time to get a result I am happy with. Instead of the usual outfit post I wanted to create a mini guide to a short road trip, so have included some playlist suggestions and travel essentials. Obviously these two things will differ largely depending on your music taste and/or destination, so take them with a pinch of salt.

Untitled.jpg

Photo 09-08-2016, 15 14 04 (8).jpg

edit6Photo 09-08-2016, 15 14 04 (20).jpg

edit7

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

These are probably the best images yet to be featured on the blog so I want to say a huge thank you to Sam for being such a talented photographer and allowing me to use him for such skills.

Ailish x

 

Leave a Reply

