Mini Skin Care Haul

I have been on the hunt for some new skincare goodies for a considerable amount of time now, but I always find I get stuck at the till wondering whether I can justify £20+ on a product I’m unsure will make much of a difference (especially on a students budget). Boots is my go to place for skincare as it holds so many different ranges and there are always experts on hand to guide you through the long and confusing names of some of the more daunting products. My first stop, moisturisers…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My two previous moisturisers, which I absolutely loved, were No7’s Protect and Perfect night and day cream so I decided to stick with the brand but venture into products that weren’t problem specific. The Essential Moisture day/night creams are perfect for this as they don’t target any specific skin issues as many of the other No7 creams do (e.g. Restore and Renew), instead they simply aim to hydrate and energise. I have used both the day and night moisturisers a handful of times and although I’m yet to see a noticeable difference in my skin, the application is amazing. They glide on the skin smoothly and leave it feeling supple and refreshed.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetNo7 are currently on 3 for 2, so I was keen to make the most of the offer and added their Microdermabrasion Exfoliator  into my basket. This exfoliator was rated one of the best at home microdermabrasion products and is an Amazon best seller so I was so excited to give it a try. It claims to remove old cells with its aluminium-oxide micro-crystals and within 4 uses it can significantly reduce the appearance of fine lines as well as improve skin tone. It sounds pretty intense, but as with all No7 products they are fragrance free and suitable for sensitive and even problematic skin. During use it does feel like you’re rubbing sand on your face if you become to rough so it is important that you keep the process under 2 minutes and to be extra gentle around your eyes, nose and mouth. Despite the slight un comfort of the application the results even after 1 use were really encouraging. My skin felt tighter and looked less patchy and dull. 100% would recommend.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I am ashamed to say I have never used a serum in my life. Not for a lack of wanting to, I have just always found a way to prioritise other steps of my skincare routine over it. However, as skincare has slowly become much more of a constant in my life I am trying to explore different products to build up a routine both me and my skin feel happy with. I was searching for a serum that would help smooth out my complexion, help with skin renewal and keep it looking firm and youthful. So when I spotted the Nivea Anti-Age Skin Refining Serum I added it to my ‘to buy’ list straight away. As I’ve said before, prevention is key when it comes to keeping wrinkles and fine lines at bay so I have absolutely zero qualms with using anti-age products at the ripe old age of 19. My initial thoughts of the serum are as positive as they could be, it applies nicely and absorbs into the skin incredibly well leaving no trace of grease or stickiness.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Although I am v. happy with all these products I am always looking for new things to try out, so if any of you have any suggestions for skincare products feel free to leave them down below!

See you in the next one // Ailish x

Keep up to date with my shenanigans on Instagram: gracea_xo

 

Leave a Reply

