January Favourites

The first month of the year has officially flown by and due to my current, none existent, uni schedule I have had time to accumulate a collection of favourites over the past 30 days. I have already raved about a lot of these products on my Instagram, so if you want to keep updated between blog posts feel free to follow me there. Enjoy //

edit1.jpg

edit2.jpg

Photo 28-01-2017, 15 11 12.jpg

I have been lusting over this Anastasia Beverly Hills palette since it was released and it has quickly become a must have in any makeup lovers collection. There isn’t much I can say about the Modern Renaissance that hasn’t already been written or reviewed, the colours are to die for and the pigmentation is dreamy. The shades are noticeably more chalky than some of my other well loved palettes, such as the Urban Decay ultimate basics, and they do produce a lot of kick up in the pan, but these aren’t really deal breakers for me and I love the palette regardless. Quite unexpectedly, I have also found the brush included in the modern renaissance palette to be incredibly useful, particularly for diffusing the edges of my shadow and blending harsh lines out smoothly, which is surprising considering most of the time I opt for brushes I already use, know and love. Along with the palette I also picked up a pot of the dip brow pomade in medium brown and, if I do say so myself, my brows have been transformed. It is taking me a while to get used to using such a pigmented and soft formula but been able to achieve such clean and precise brows makes the slight extra work so worth it. I was slightly hesitant to spend £15 on a brow product, especially because the pots seem so small, but once I began using it and realised how little product you need to achieve such a bold look my doubts were immediately put to rest. Anastasia Beverly Hills are the ultimate professionals when it comes to brow products, so you know you’re getting your moneys worth.

edit3arotate

Photo 28-01-2017, 14 51 08.jpg

I was lucky enough to receive these as a Christmas present from Sam, especially as I had been looking for a new brush set for some time. Spectrum brushes are the perfect combination of practical and pretty, they do the job whilst looking beautiful for blog and Instagram photos, as well as being vegan registered and cruelty free. The brand has such a lovely and uplifting aesthetic and are such a good price for the quality you’re buying. Pictured here are 5 of the brushes from the set, including the small fan brush (second from the left) which has become my new favourite for adding a soft glow of highlight. While the set doesn’t include tools for the eye, it consists of 12 brushes that can be used for pretty much everywhere else for the face, each with a different shape and density to suit any needs. Also, look how pretty they are.

edit4

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

If you enjoy wearing heels on a night out but find that an extra 6 inches is just a bit too much, these shoes are literally perfect. I am a serial offender of buying sky scraper heels purely for how they look with little regard as to whether I can actually walk in them and so the fact that I can wear these on a night out, without needing to go bare foot an hour in is an accomplishment. Paired with a pair of black, high waisted skinnies and a fitted black body suit, these shoes would give a gorgeous Sandy Olsson vibe that you can last in all night.

Photo 28-01-2017, 15 12 57.jpg

My music favourite for the month is BANKS who I began listening to after falling in love with her debut album Goddess a couple of years ago. Her music is quite different to anything else I listen to and her edgy and mysterious style has allowed her to make her way up to one of my favourite artists. This alternative R&B definitely won’t be to everyones taste, but I’ve even got Sam hooked.

sign

One thought on “January Favourites

Leave a Reply

